An introduction

Emmely and Jo bought the ‘De verkeerde wereld’ plot in Oostrozebeke (BE) as a country house. On the site of a former recreation area, they built a brand new farmhouse.

“We soon realised that our new farm would have to be located at this location”, says Emmely, the owner

PROJECT LAETITIA DEKNUDT

Quest to find a country house

Emmely and Jo were looking for a country house. At the weekend, they wanted to flee the chaos of the city. Something on the coast or in the Ardennes, that’s what they were after. They set out on a quest for a building plot on which to build a house. That turned out to be harder than they had imagined until ‘De verkeerde wereld’ in Oostrozebeke (BE) came on the market. The site was owned by Minderbroeders priests and was used as a camp-site for youth groups. When they visited the location, they knew it fitted the bill precisely. The farmhouse was located in a green, rural setting, without any electricity pylons or pig farms in the vicinity. The plot covers almost 15,000 square metres. The Mandel flows through the rear of the valley in a large bend, past protected pollard willows and green pastures. A row of Italian poplars that are around 30 metres high dominate the landscape with a certain nobility.

Thinking in advance 

Interior designer Laetitia Deknudt: “The owners contacted me at a very early stage. That was ideal as I was able to add my thoughts when the building process was still under way. This included the position of the bathrooms or kitchen, locations of plugs, lighting and so on. Everything is completely harmonised.”

PURE PMBU VO PROJECT LAETITIA DEKNUDT
CLOSETS: PMBU & PBU VO COLLECTION PURE – WINDOW: PHL VO COLLECTION PURE – DOOR: PHT/50R VO COLLECTION PURE

“Thanks to the old materials that we used, you might think that it is a renovated, authentic farmhouse”, says Emmely, the owner.

Old materials

The farmhouse design includes mainly old materials in combination with materials with a ‘used’ look. As a result, you could think it was a renovated, authentic farmhouse. The sills are made of blue stone with an aged finish. The steps look as if they have been worn over time. All of the interior doors are made from old timber planks. The door to the cellar is an antique door and Emmely picked up the fifteenth century mantelshelf before the building plans were even ready. The interior walls and the stairs are finished with loam.

Throughout the home, grips, knobs and handles from Dauby’s ‘butterfly line’ have been used. Models PBU-45 and PMBU-128 in Aged Iron (VO) on the cabinets and drawers. Door handles PHT and PHL in Aged Iron (VO) are used on the doors and windows. Despite the fantasy in the design, these manage to retain their sleekness. Towel rods are also used in the kitchen and bathroom to add a finishing touch. 

In collaboration with Laetitia Deknudt and the magazine Wonen Landelijke Stijl

Photography: Jonah Samyn 

Send a message

A question?
Send a messagee






TOP

Plantons le décor…

Emmely et Jo ont acheté le domaine ‘De verkeerde wereld‘ à Oostrozebeke (Belgique) pour en faire leur résidence secondaire. Sur l’ancien terrain de loisirs, ils ont fait bâtir une toute nouvelle ferme.

« On s’est vite décidé: c’était l’adresse rêvée pour notre ferme » dit Emmely, l’occupante des lieux.

PROJECT LAETITIA DEKNUDT

En quête d’une résidence secondaire

Emmely et Jo cherchaient une résidence secondaire loin de l’agitation de la ville et où se ressourcer le week-end. À la côte ou dans les Ardennes. Ils cherchaient un terrain à bâtir ou une maison à rénover. La recherche s’est avérée plus difficile que prévu, jusqu’à ce que le domaine ‘De verkeerde wereld‘ soit mis en vente à Oostrozebeke (Belgique). Ce domaine appartenait à une congrégation de Frères mineurs et accueillait des camps de mouvements de jeunesse. Lorsqu’ils ont visité le domaine, tous leurs souhaits se sont avérés plus que comblés. La ferme se situe dans une zone verte et rurale, sans pylône à haute tension ni porcherie à proximité. Le domaine occupe une superficie de près de 15.000 mètres carrés. En toile de fond, dans la vallée coule la Mandel. La rivière dessine un grand méandre bordé de saules têtards remarquables et de vertes pâtures. Une rangée de peupliers d’Italie d’une trentaine de mètres de haut domine le paysage.

Réflexion précoce 

Laetitia Deknudt, architecte d’intérieur : « Les occupants m’ont contactée très tôt. Cela a eu l’avantage de me permettre d’entamer la réflexion alors que la construction était encore en cours. Pensons notamment à l’emplacement des salles de bains et de la cuisine, aux prises de courant, à l’éclairage… Tout s’est parfaitement goupillé. »

PURE PMBU VO PROJECT LAETITIA DEKNUDT
PLACARD: PMBU & PBU VO COLLECTION PURE – FENÊTRE: PHL VO COLLECTION PURE – PORTE: PHT/50R VO COLLECTION PURE

Emmely, occupante des lieux : « Les matériaux anciens donnent l’impression qu’il s’agit d’une authentique ferme rénovée ».

Matériaux anciens

À l’intérieur, on a privilégié les matériaux anciens, que l’on a associés à des matériaux vieillis. On dirait une authentique ferme rénovée. Les seuils sont en pierre bleue et ont un aspect patiné. C’est comme si les marches s’étaient usées avec le temps. Toutes les portes intérieures ont été fabriquées à partir d’anciens fonds de wagons. Une porte ancienne donne vers le sous-sol et Emmely a pu dénicher la cheminée du XVe siècle avant que les plans de construction ne soient finalisés. Les murs intérieurs et les escaliers ont été finis en argile.

On note l’omniprésence de boutons, poignées de meubles et poignées de porte Dauby alias « la ligne papillon » d’un bout à l’autre de l’habitation. On retrouve les modèles PBU-45 et PMBU-128 en fer vieilli (VO) sur les armoires et tiroirs, et les poignées PHT et PHL en fer vieilli (VO) équipent les portes et fenêtres. Malgré leur grande fantaisie d’exécution, celles-ci conservent leur sobriété. Les porte-serviettes dans la cuisine et la salle de bain complètent le tableau. 

En collaboration avecLaetitia Deknudt et magazine Wonen Landelijke Stijl

Photographie: Jonah Samyn 

Envoyer un message

Une question?
Envoyer un message






TOP